Next School

Over the years Seahorse Nursery has developed good working relationships with many of the schools which we feed in to – both independent preparatory schools and local primary schools. Choosing you child’s next school can be a daunting task; we would always recommend that you attend open days and evenings to get a feel for the environment and teaching style. Children thrive in different conditions and as a parent you may feel strongly about access to outdoor space, specific aspects of the curriculum, class size or school ethos. It’s worth working out what is important to you before visiting so you have a clear idea about what you’re looking for and can ask pertinent questions during your tour.

What you can do to find out more:

  • visit the school – most schools have open days and evenings
  • read the school’s most recent Ofsted reports
  • check school league tables, which include exam results
  • talk to other parents about what they think of the school – if you have a particular school you’d like to know about we can link you with any existing parents who have siblings there

Independent Schools

Co-educational/Mixed sex Independent  and Preparatory Schools

Broomwood School – http://broomwood.co.uk/

Hurlingham School – https://www.hurlinghamschool.co.uk/

Ibstock Place School – https://www.ibstockplaceschool.co.uk/prep

Merlin School – http://www.merlinschool.net/

Prospect House – https://www.prospecths.org.uk/

The Roche School – http://therocheschool.com/

Thomas’s – http://www.thomas-s.co.uk/

Wandsworth Prep School – http://www.wandsworthprep.com/

Girls

Falcons School for Girls – https://www.falconsgirls.co.uk/

Putney High School – http://www.putneyhigh.gdst.net/

The Study Prep School – http://www.thestudyprep.co.uk/

Wimbledon High School – http://www.wimbledonhigh.gdst.net/

Boys

Rokeby School – https://www.rokebyschool.co.uk/

Willington Independent Prep School – http://www.willingtonschool.co.uk/

Wimbledon Common Prep School – http://www.wimbledoncommonprep.co.uk/

 

State Primary Schools

How to apply – all primary schools have admission criteria to decide which children get places. The school or local council usually set these and the criteria are different for each school. For example, schools may give priority to children:

  • who have a brother or sister at the school already
  • who live close to the school
  • from a particular religion (for faith schools)
  • in care or being looked after (all schools must have this as a top priority)
  • who are eligible for the pupil premium
  • Your local council can give you a booklet about schools’ criteria and how to apply.
  • Children with special educational needs (SEN)

If your child has SEN their statement or education, health and care plan will recommend a school for them. If you apply there, the school must give your child a place.

Borough of Wandsworth:

Albemarle Primary – http://www.albemarle.wandsworth.sch.uk/

Floreat School – http://www.floreat.org.uk/

Our Lady Queen of Heaven RC – http://www.ourladyqueenofheaven.wandsworth.sch.uk/

Riversdale Primary – http://www.riversdaleschool.org.uk/

Ronald Ross Primary – http://www.ronaldross.org.uk/

Sheringdale Primary – http://www.sheringdale.org/

Southmead Primary – http://www.southmeadschool.co.uk/

St Michael’s Church of England Primary – http://www.stmichaels.wandsworth.sch.uk/

Borough of Merton:

Bishop Gilpin Church of England Primary – http://www.bishopgilpin.org/

Wimbledon Park Primary – http://www.wimbledonpark.merton.sch.uk

*for a full list of schools please visit https://www.gov.uk/schools-admissions which will direct you to the correct council website.

We always encourage your child’s new teacher to visit the nursery in your child’s final term at Seahorse Nursery.

Book a tour

The best way to get a feel for our environment is to come and visit us.

One of our team will be pleased to show you around the nursery and take you through how we support your child's learning and development.

A typical visit lasts around 20-30 minutes and you can use this handy online form to arrange a date and time. Please note that pre-school visits are generally at 10:00, and day nursery visits are at 10:30 and 15:30.

Like us on Facebook:

Follow us on Twitter

Contact Us

Seahorse Nursery School
55 Southdean Gardens
Southfields, SW19 6NT

Seahorse Nursery Southfields
ACE Building. Albemarle School
Princes Way
Southfields, SW19 6JP

Seahorse Nursery Wimbledon Park
132-134 Arthur Road
Wimbledon Park
SW19 8AA